News

UPDATE: 2020 Houston Rodeo Canceled Over Coronavirus Concerns

Luke Bryan performs during the induction ceremony of Brooks & Dunn at 2019 Medallion Ceremony at the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum on Sunday, Oct. 20, 2019 in Nashville, Tenn. (Photo by Sanford Myers/Invision/AP)

The 2020 Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo has been canceled due to concerns over coronavirus. Click2Houston reports that a Houston City Council Member confirmed that officials canceled the annual event on Wednesday, March 11. The Houston Rodeo was set to run through March 22.

"The Rodeo is deeply saddened; however, the safety and well-being of our guests and our community is our top priority. Out of precaution, the City has decided that this is the best course of action for our community," reads a post on the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo website. "We look forward to the 2021 Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo to continue to promote agriculture, education, entertainment and Western heritage."

For information on how to get your refund for purchased tickets, visit here.

Chris Stapleton, Jon Pardi, Dierks Bentley, Cody Johnson and Keith Urban were among the country artists set to headline the 2020 Houston Rodeo.

Texas trio Midland kicked off the concert portion of the rodeo on Tuesday, March 3. Nelson took the stage the following night. Maren Morris performed on March 7. Luke Bryan was scheduled to close out the rodeo on March 22.

There are currently over 25 cases of  coronavirus  in Texas, with 14 of those cases in the Houston area.

The World Heath Organization declared the coronavirus outbreak a pandemic on March 11.

Read More: Farmer Creates 15-Foot Sculpture of Willie Nelson Out of Hay Bales

RodeoHouston Lineup (Before Cancellation)

Tuesday, March 3 - Country - Midland
Wednesday, March 4 - Country - Willie Nelson
Thursday, March 5 - Latin Pop - Becky G
Friday, March 6 - Hip Hop/R&B - TBD
Saturday, March 7 - Country - Maren Morris
Sunday, March 8 - Norteno - Ramon Ayala
Monday, March 9 - Country - Chris Young
Tuesday, March 10 - K-Pop - NCT 127
Wednesday, March 11 - Country - Kane Brown
Thursday, March 12 - Country - Cody Johnson
Friday, March 13 - Hip Hop/Pop - TBD
Saturday, March 14 - Country - Jon Pardi

Sunday, March 15 - Country - Dierks Bentley
Monday, March 16 - Country - Keith Urban
Tuesday, March 17 - Pop - Gwen Stefani
Wednesday, March 18 - R&B/Pop - Khalid
Thursday, March 19 - Country - Chris Stapleton
Friday, March 20 - EDM - TBD
Saturday, March 21 - Country - Brad Paisley
Sunday, March 22 - Country - Luke Bryan

This article was originally published on Jan. 9, 2020. It has been updated to reflect the cancellation of the Houston Rodeo. 

Now Watch: Going to Concerts Regularly Makes You Happier, Study Says

recommended for you

UPDATE: 2020 Houston Rodeo Canceled Over Coronavirus Concerns