Alexa King

Rooted in Country: Ashley Monroe Channeled the Emotion of Elvis Presley's 'Don't' on New Album 'Rosegold'

There's a lot of joy and peace on Ashley Monroe's lush and dazzling new album Rosegold, but the sense of yearning, wrapped up in Monroe's silky, honeyed vocals, is as present as ever.

Monroe, who in addition to her solo career is a member of the Pistol Annies alongside Miranda Lambert and Angaleena Presley, says she's always been drawn to songs that exuded longing, going back to Elvis Presley's 11th No. 1 song, "Don't."

"When I was younger, I would play that song over and over and get chills every time," Monroe tells Wide Open Country. "I was always in love with Elvis but this specific song always stood out to me because he sang it in a whisper yet it was so powerful. I've been a sucker for songs that have a bit of desperation in them, desperation to love and be loved. I channeled that emotion for the songs on Rosegold."

Read More: Rooted in Country: Emma White Says Patty Griffin's 'Let Him Fly' Was Her 'North Star'

And that's not the only nod to The King on Rosegold. Presley's "Love Me Tender" gets a shoutout on the string-laden "Gold."

Monroe's debut album Satisfied was released in 2009. Her second album, Like A Rose, featured co-writes with Guy Clark, Jon Randall and Vince Gill and a duet with Blake Shelton.

Rosegold is the follow-up to Monroe's 2018 album Sparrow. Her band, the Pistol Annies, released Interstate Gospel the same year.

Rosegold is available for purchase here.

'Rosegold' Track List:

  1. Siren
  2. Silk
  3. Gold
  4. See
  5. Drive
  6. Flying
  7. Groove
  8. 'Til It Breaks
  9. I Mean It
  10. The New Me

Now Watch: Tina Turner Began Her Solo Career as a Country Singer