Cooper Neill/Getty Images/ Rick Diamond/Getty Images

George Strait, Loretta Lynn to be Honored at 2019 Nashville Songwriter Awards

Living legends Loretta Lynn and George Strait will each receive a special reward at the second annual Nashville Songwriter Awards, held Sept. 17 at the Ryman.

Lynn will become just the third recipient of the Kris Kristofferson Lifetime Achievement Award. The Nashville Songwriters Association International (NSAI) has issued the award twice before: in 2013 to Willie Nelson and at last years' inaugural Nashville Songwriter Awards to Bill Anderson. The award celebrates Lynn's "contributions to the American songbook" and honors her for "inspiring the careers of others."

Strait will receive the President's Keystone Award to honor his "contributions toward the betterment of all songwriters."

"George Strait is the perfect recipient of the NSAI President's Keystone Award.  The Keystone is the 'central stone at the summit of an arch, locking the whole together'," says NSAI President Steve Bogard in a press release. "His delivery of a great melody and that perfect phrasing that communicates the emotion in a lyric is the ultimate last step in bringing so many incredible records to his fans. We're honored he'll be with us."

Read More: Remember When George Strait Sang 'All My Ex's Live in Texas' on the 1988 Grammy Awards?

Peer-voted honors announced during the ceremony include Song, Songwriter and Songwriter-Artist of the Year, plus the "10 Songs I Wish I'd Written" award.

Performers scheduled for the show include Reba McEntire, Sam Hunt, Dierks Bentley, Chris Janson, Lee Brice, David Lee Murphy, Michael Ray, Dean Dillon and more.

In addition, U.S. Senator Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn) will receive the White Hat Award, an honor reserved for someone who has "significantly served the American songwriting community," according to NSAI.

Tickets for the event go on sale this Friday at 10 a.m. Central Standard Time through the Ryman's website.

Now Watch: Songs Every Loretta Lynn Fan Knows By Heart