Revived Remixed Revisited Reba McEntire
Jordan Strauss/Invision/AP

Reba McEntire Explains the Thought Process Behind Triple Album 'Revived Remixed Revisited'

Reba McEntire slaps a new coat of paint on some of her greatest hits on three-part, multi-themed box set Revived Remixed Revisited (out this Friday (Oct. 8) via MCA Nashville).

Revived updated classics that have evolved in McEntire's live show with new studio versions recorded with her touring band.  Remixed is, as you might've guessed, a collection of remixed McEntire standards (think the previously-shared "Fancy" remix by Dave Aude, from the 30th-anniversary edition of Rumor Has It). The triple album's final theme, Revisited, teamed McEntire with Grammy award-winning producer Dave Cobb for fresh takes on familiar songs, including the anticipated Dolly Parton duet version of "Does He Love You."

"We wanted to pick the most popular songs, the ones the fans want to hear again," McEntire says in an All Access Minute clip from the Circle network. "And we wanted to make sure we got songs from each era... Then we started selecting how would this song sound as a dance mix or one that the band would record or one that Dave Cobb would do a little breakdown session with not as many instruments. So we had to take it song-by-song. It was a lot of fun."

A song from each disc (or vinyl record, if that's your preference) accompanied the August announcement: "Is There Life Out There" from Revisited, "I'm a Survivor (Lafemmebear Remix)" from Remixed and "Consider Me Gone" from Revisited.

Read More: Willie Nelson Played a Free Concert in 1982 in Recession-Rocked Lima, Ohio

"I've been continuing to make new albums, and we really haven't spent the time to slow down enough to revisit and work the catalog and remind people of what we've done in the past," McEntire told Variety in an exclusive interview. "I'm really a forward thinker, so that was a little out of my realm. I wish I had thought of it, but Cindy Mabe (UMG Nashville's president) came up with that idea along with the folks over there, and I was thrilled that they wanted to spend that much time and attention on my catalog. Then when we got through with all the music that we did, with it turning out to be three different albums, we started talking about, what are we going to call this? 'Reba Does It Again,' or 'Reba Sings 'Em Again'? And this title was very clever, I thought."

Revived Tracklist

1.  "Can't Even Get The Blues"
2.  "Is There Life Out There"
3.  "The Greatest Man I Never Knew"
4.  "Walk On"
5.  "Whoever's In New England"
6.  "The Night The Lights Went Out In Georgia"
7.  "For My Broken Heart"
8.  "Take It Back" / "Why Haven't I Heard From You"
9.  "You Lie"
10. "Fancy"

Remixed Tracklist

1.  "Turn On The Radio - Tracy Young Remix
2.  "I'm Gonna Take That Mountain" - Dave Aude remix
3.  "Little Rock" - Stonebridge Mix
4.  "I'm a Survivor" - Lafemmebear remix
5.  "Does He Love You" - Eric Kupper Remix
6.  "Keep Me Hangin' On" - Love To Infinity Remix
7.  "The Night The Lights Went Out In Georgia" - Eric Kupper Remix
8.  "The Heart Is A Lonely Hunter" - Ralphi Rosario Remix
9.  "Why Haven't I Heard From You" - Dave Aude remix
10. "Fancy" - Dave Aude remix

Revisited Tracklist

1.  "The Fear Of Being Alone"
2.  "Consider Me Gone"
3.  "Somebody Should Leave"
4.  "How Blue"
5.  "Does He Love You" (with Dolly Parton)
6.  "One Promise Too Late"
7.  "The Last One To Know"
8.  "New Fool At An Old Game"
9.  "I'm a Survivor"
10. "Fancy"