NASHVILLE, TENNESSEE - SEPTEMBER 22: Brandi Carlile accepts an award onstage at the 20th Annual Americana Honors & Awards at Ryman Auditorium on September 22, 2021 in Nashville, Tennessee. (Photo by Jason Kempin/Getty Images for Americana Music Association )

Brandi Carlile, Sturgill Simpson Among Winners at 2021 Americana Music Awards

The Americana Honors and Awards ceremony was held at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville, Tenn. on Sept. 22. Brandi Carlile and Sturgill Simpson were among the night's top winners. Carlile, who was also nominated as part of the supergroup The Highwomen, took home the award for Artist of the Year. Sturgill Simpson won Album of the Year for his album Cuttin' Grass - Vol. 1 (Butcher Shoppe Sessions).

Black Pumas were named Duo/Group of the year, while Texas-based singer-songwriter Charley Crockett was named Emerging Act of the Year.

"I Remember Everything," the late John Prine's final recorded song (co-written with Pat McLaughlin), was named Song of the Year.

Fiddler Kristen Weber was named Instrumentalist of the Year.

The Mavericks, Keb' Mo' and the Fisk Jubilee Singers were the Americana Music Association's Lifetime Achievement Honorees for 2021. Eclectic rock and country band The Mavericks recieved the Trailblazer Award; blues singer-songwriter Keb' Mo' recieved the Performance Award; engineer Trina Shoemaker was honored for production;  vocalist Carla Thomas recieved the Inspiration Award and the Fisk University choir, the Fisk Jubilee Singers, recieved the Legacy of Americana Award, co-presented with the National Museum of African American Music (NMAAM).

Read More: Brandi Carlile Unveils Sparkling New Music Video Directed by Courteney Cox

See the full list of nominees and winners below (winners in bold).

2021 Americana Music Awards Winners

Album of the Year
Cuttin' Grass - Vol. 1 (Butcher Shoppe Sessions), Sturgill Simpson [Produced by David Ferguson & Sturgill Simpson] — WINNER

J.T., Steve Earle & The Dukes [Produced by Steve Earle]
The Moon and Stars: Prescriptions for Dreamers, Valerie June [Produced by Valerie June, Ben Rice, and Jack Splash]
Reunions, Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit [Produced by Dave Cobb]
World on the Ground, Sarah Jarosz [Produced by John Leventhal]

Artist of the Year
Brandi Carlile — WINNER
Kathleen Edwards
Jason Isbell
Margo Price
Billy Strings

Duo/Group of the Year
Black Pumas — WINNER
The Highwomen
Our Native Daughters
The War and Treaty
Gillian Welch and David Rawlings

Emerging Act of the Year
Charley Crockett — WINNER
Amythyst Kiah
Joy Oladokun
Allison Russell

Instrumentalist of the Year
Megan Coleman
Robbie Crowell
Jay Jacildo
Philip Towns
Kristin Weber — WINNER

Song of the Year
"Black Myself," Amythyst Kiah (Written by Amythyst Kiah)
"Call Me a Fool," Valerie June featuring Carla Thomas (Written by Valerie June)
"Dreamsicle," Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit (Written by Jason Isbell)
"I Remember Everything," John Prine (Written by Pat McLaughlin and John Prine) — WINNER
"Long Violent History," Tyler Childers (Written by Tyler Childers)

Trailblazer Award — The Mavericks

Inspiration Award — Carla Thomas

Performance Award — Keb' Mo'

Lifetime Acheivement Award for Producer/ Engineer — Trina Shoemaker

Legacy of Americana Award, presented in partnership with the National Museum of African American Music — Fisk Jubilee Singers