Jason Davis/Getty Images

Sara Evans Unveils Emotional New Single 'I Don't Trust Myself'

Sara Evans' new single "I Don't Trust Myself" is an angst-riddled tale of love gone wrong. The track appears on Evans' anticipated forthcoming album, Words, due out July 21.

Evans remains one of mainstream country's best interpreters of songs. On her new single, she portrays a love-torn woman, maneuvering through a rocky relationship. She sings it as an old school country ballad — the type Dolly might've sung on the Porter Waggoner Show — with a modern style.

The track was co-written by influential Nashville songwriter Caitlyn Smith. Smith, a Minnesota-born singer-songwriter, bolsters a songbook already filled with hits by Garth Brooks ("Tacoma"), Cassadee Pope ("Wasting All These Tears") and Kenny Rogers and Dolly Parton ("You Can't Make Old Friends").

14 female songwriters were involved with the album.  Collaborators represent a cross-section of Nashville's most accomplished young women, including Pistol Annies alum Ashley Monroe, Lady Antebellum's Hillary Scott and "Jesus, Take the Wheel" co-writer Hillary Lindsey. In addition, lead single "Marquee Sign" features guest vocals from Evans' 14-year-old daughter Olivia.

Evans makes sure there's more "Girls 'Round Here" in modern country. "Not only is 'Words' the title to one of the songs on my album but in listening to new music for the record, I was always looking for lyrics that moved me and expressed a powerful range of emotions," Evans says in a statement posted on her website. "Women are natural storytellers and I'm proud to have so many amazing female songwriters represented on this record."

Words is Evans' first album since 2014's Slow Me Down. The independent release on Evans' own Born Fly Records marks the end of a 20 year, eight album run with RCA Nashville.

Now Watch: Lady Antebellum Tells Story Behind "Famous"