Country Music Duos
Cooper Neill/Getty Images

Brooks & Dunn, Ray Stevens and Jerry Bradley Named 2019 Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees

The 2019 Country Music Hall of Fame inductees were announced today (March 18). Brooks & DunnRay Stevens and Jerry Bradley have been named the newest inductees.

The 2019 class was announced during a special ceremony at the Country Music Hall of Fame in Nashville. Reba McEntire was originally scheduled to make the announcement but had to cancel due to an illness. Bill Cody, a Grand Ole Opry announcer and host of WSM's "Coffee, Country and Cody" was on hand to announce the inductees.

Brooks & Dunn will be inducted into the Modern Era Artist Category. The superstar country duo, made up of Kix Brooks and Ronnie Dunn, released their debut album Brand New Man in 1991. The album spawned multiple  No. 1 hits, including "My Next Broken Heart," "Neon Moon," "Boot Scootin' Boogie" and the title track. The duo was originally formed through the suggestion of music executive Tim DuBois who noticed the two men struggling with their individual solo careers. As a duo, Brooks & Dunn would go on to become one of the most celebrated acts in country music history. Brooks & Dunn will release their new album Reboot, which features the duo performing their biggest hits with contemporary country artists, on April 5.

Read More: How Brooks and Dunn's 'Boot Scootin' Boogie' Made Line Dancing Cool Again

Ray Stevens will be inducted into the Veterans Era Artist category. Stevens moved to Nashville in the 1960s. In 1968, while working at Monument Records, Stevens produced early tracks for Dolly Parton. The following year, he had a top 10 country hit with "Gitarzan." In 1974, Stevens released his smash comedy song "The Streak," which sold 5 million albums. Over his lengthy career, Stevens has remained one of the most respected artists in the genre, working as a singer, producer, songwriter and record label owner.

Jerry Bradley, the son of legendary producer Owen Bradley and the nephew of iconic session player Harold Bradley, will be inducted in the non-performer category. Bradley served as the head of RCA Nashville from 1973 to 1982.

Now Watch: 10 Legendary Instruments of Country Music