Brandi Carlile, left, accepts the Artist of the Year Award at the Americana Honors & Awards show Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019, in Nashville, Tenn. (AP Photo/Wade Payne)

2019 Americana Awards: The Complete List of Winners

Brandi Carlile, John Prine and The War and Treaty were big winners at the 2019 Americana Awards and Honors ceremony held at Nashville's Ryman auditorium on Wednesday night (September 11).

John Prine took home the award for album of the year for his Dave Cobb-produced 2018 album The Tree of Forgiveness. Prine also won Song of the Year for "Summer's End," along with the song's co-writer Pat McLaughlin.

Brandi Carlile, who performed her song "The Mother" during the ceremony, was named Artist of the Year. Carlile used her acceptance speech to recognize her fellow nominees Rhiannon GiddensKacey Musgraves and Mavis Staples. ("Mavis took a DNA test...turns out she's 100 percent that legend," Carlile quipped.)

Read More: See Tanya Tucker, Brandi Carlile Lead All-Star Performance of 'Delta Dawn' at 2019 CMT Music Awards

Husband and wife duo The War and Treaty won the Emerging Act of the Year award, while supergroup I'm With Her (Sarah Jarosz, Sara Watkins, and Aoife O'Donovan) took home the award for Duo/Group of the Year.

Music legend and activist Mavis Staples was presented with the Inspiration Award. Elvis Costello, Delbert McClinton, Rhiannon Giddens and Maria Muldaur also received special recognition. See a full list of winners and honorees below. 

2019 Americana Award Winners:

Album of the Year:
The Tree of Forgiveness, John Prine, produced by Dave Cobb

Artist of the Year:
Brandi Carlile

Song of the Year:
"Summer's End," John Prine, written by Pat McLaughlin and John Prine

Duo/Group of the Year:
I'm With Her

Emerging Act of the Year:
The War and Treaty

Instrumentalist of the Year:
Chris Eldridge

President's Award:
Felice & Boudleaux Bryant

Lifetime Achievement Award for Songwriting:
Elvis Costello

Legacy of Americana Award, presented in partnership with the National Museum of African American Music:
Rhiannon Giddens and Frank Johnson

Lifetime Achievement Award for Performance:
Delbert McClinton

Trailblazer Award:
Maria Muldaur

Inspiration Award, presented in partnership with the First Amendment Center:
Mavis Staples

Now Watch: Artists to Watch in 2019