Wynonna Announces New EP 'Recollections,' Shares 'King Bee'

Country music legend Wynonna Judd returns Oct. 30 with five-song covers EP Recollections.

Anti- Records paired the Aug. 24 release announcement with teaser track "King Bee," a blues song written and popularized by Slim Harpo. Judd recorded the new release with her producer, bandmate and husband, Cactus Moser.

Per a press release, the recording "gets an extra boost of swagger from the couple's palpable chemistry, with Wynonna bouncing swampy, distorted harmonica riffs off of her husband's searing slide guitar."

Covers of John Prine, Fats Domino, the Grateful Dead and Nina Simone round out an upcoming EP made possible by a year Wynonna's primarily spent on her Tennessee farm due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

"I've learned a lot being at home these last few months," Wynonna reflects in a press release. "When there's no touring, no concerts, no band, no lights, no action, all that's left is you and the song. All that's left is your gift."

After a run with her mother Naomi Judd as The Judds netted five Grammy awards and 14 No. 1 hits, Wynonna found success in the '90s, starting with a 1992 self-titled debut that's earned five-time platinum status.

Read More: The 10 Best Chris Stapleton Songs, Ranked

Nowadays, she gets to record whatever she pleases for indie label ANTI-, as opposed to chase more radio hits for Nashville shot-callers.

"I never wanted to be defined by the business side of things, by all the industry accolades and awards," she explains. "Don't get me wrong, I'm grateful for all of that, but ultimately, I've always just wanted to be defined by my art, and ANTI- lets me do that. It's like a shelter from the storm, a place where I can go after all these years in the business and make the music I want to make."

The EP is Wynonna's first recording project since 2016's Wynonna & The Big Noise.

"This EP was a labor of love without the labor," she laughs. "As a songwriter, you can get bogged down in your own craft sometimes, but there's something so liberating about letting go of all that and just inhabiting someone else's writing."

Recollections EP Track Listing

1. "I Hear You Knocking" (Fats Domino)
2. "King Bee" (Slim Harpo)
3. "Feeling Good" (Nina Simone)
4. "Angel From Montgomery" (John Prine)
5. "Ramble On Rose" (Grateful Dead) 

Now Watch: Remembering Songwriter John Prine's Songs Through the Years

recommended for you

Wynonna Announces New EP 'Recollections,' Shares 'King Bee'