Hear a Preview of Willie Nelson’s Upcoming Ray Price Tribute Album

Willie Nelson VEVO

Willie Nelson is no stranger to tribute albums. In fact, Nelson’s Gershwin tribute album recently earned the top spot on the jazz charts. Now, he’s putting an album out to honor his late friend and legendary country musician Ray Price.

Before Price’s passing in 2013, he was working on an album titled Beauty Is with producer Fred Foster and string conductor Bergen White. Willie has decided to team up with Foster and White for the tribute album, which will be titled For the Good Times: A Tribute to Ray Price.

Nelson and company recorded the album in Nashville’s Ocean Way Studios, where Price was recording. Vince Gill and the Time Jumpers sing and play back-up on multiple For the Good Times tracks, including this version of “Heartaches By the Numbers.”

Nelson and Price had a long history together. Nelson did a short stint playing in Price’s band, the Cherokee Cowboys, in the early ’60s. They formed a close bond and continued their friendship until Price’s passing.

“Ray was as a close a friend as you could have,” Nelson said in a new video promoting the album. “We traveled together, lived together, played music together, partied together … and had a lot of good times.”

For the Good Times will be out on Sept. 16 and will include covers of 12 of Price’s famous hits.


1. “Heartaches by the Number” (feat. the Time Jumpers)

2. “I’ll Be There (If You Ever Want Me)” (feat. the Time Jumpers)

3. “Faded Love”

4. “It Always Will Be”

5. “City Lights” (feat. the Time Jumpers)

6. “Don’t You Ever Get Tired of Hurting Me” (feat. the Time Jumpers)

7. “Make the World Go Away”

8. “I’m Still Not Over You”

9. “Night Life”

10. “Crazy Arms” (feat. the Time Jumpers)

11. “Invitation to the Blues” (feat. the Time Jumpers)

12. “For the Good Times”

recommended for you

Hear a Preview of Willie Nelson’s Upcoming Ray Price Tribute Album