Music

Song Premiere: Ward Hayden and the Outliers' Lively Cover of 'The Promised Land'

Ward Hayden and the Outliers put their own spin on American classics on their forthcoming album Can't Judge a Book. Today, Wide Open Country is premiering the band's electrifying cover of Chuck Berry's 1964 song "The Promised Land."

"The Promised Land," which is included on Berry's St. Louis to Liverpool album, is set to the tune of the American folk song "Wabash Cannon Ball" and tells the tale of a rambler making his way from Norfolk, Virginia to Los Angeles, California.

Ward Hayden says the songs featured on Can't Judge a Book were a comfort to him at a time when he was at a crossroads.

"I was doing these long drives and there was nothing appealing to me on the radio. I was twenty years old at the time and had been through my first experiences with heartbreak and loss," Hayden says in a press release. "When I put some of these cassettes on the player in my Oldsmobile Delta Eighty-Eight, all I could think was, 'this is everything I've been searching for.'"

Listen to Ward Hayden and the Outliers' cover of Chuck Berry's "The Promised Land" below.

For more information on Ward Hayden and the Outliers, visit their official website.

Upcoming Ward Hayden and the Outliers Tour Dates:

Mon, July 22 - Blue Monday Concert Series - Mystic, CT
Fri, Aug. 2 - Captain Scott's Outdoor Concert Series - New London, CT
Sat, Aug. 3 - Private Party - Uxbridge, MA
Sun, Aug. 4 - Levitt AMP St. Johnsbury Music Series - East Saint Johnsbury, VT
Sat, Aug. 17 - The Port Hunter - Edgartown, MA
Fri, Aug. 23 - Dangerously Delicious Pies - Washington, DC
Fri, Aug. 30 - 3S Artspace Loading Dock Concert Series - Portsmouth, NH
Sun, Sept. 1 - Stone Mountain Arts Center - Brownfield, ME
Fri, Sept. 6 - City Winery Boston - Boston, MA
Fri, Sept. 13 - Sportsmen's Tavern - Buffalo, NY
Thu, Sept. 19 - Thursday Night Live - Lexington-Fayette, KY

Now Watch: 8 Rising Country Artists to Follow in 2019

recommended for you

Song Premiere: Ward Hayden and the Outliers' Lively Cover of 'The Promised Land'