Trace Adkins Where the Country Girls At
Kristin Barlow

Trace Adkins Announces New Album 'The Way I Wanna Go,' Shares Luke Bryan and Pitbull Collab 'Where the Country Girls At'


Trace Adkins will commemorate 25 years in big-time country music with the Aug. 27 release of his 13th studio album, The Way I Wanna Go.

Guest collaborators Luke Bryan and Pitbull appear on the first song shared from the new project, "Where the Country Girls At." It's a funky stew of fiddle, banjo, hip-hop beats and autobiographical statements by Mr. Worldwide himself.

A press release lauds the collab as "your new summer party anthem and this generation's 'Honky Tonk Badonkadonk.'"


Adkins also breaks musical bread on his new album with Melissa Etheridge, Snoop Dogg, Keb' Mo', Stevie Wonder and fellow Grand Ole Opry member Blake Shelton.

"I've got to the point I think in my career where it's all up to me now," Adkins says in a press release. "I can do whatever I want to do, and that's a beautiful place to be. I love where I'm at, I really do. I've had the perfect career, and I'm right where I want to be."

Read More: Kenny Chesney, Jimmy Buffett Perform at Surprise Show in Nashville

The new collection of songs comes a quarter-century after the "You're Gonna Miss This" singer's debut, Dreamin' Out Loud.


Adkins' upcoming gigs mix makeup dates from 2020's postponed The Way I Wanna Go tour with stops on Shelton's Friends & Heroes tour.

The Way I Wanna Go Track Listing

  1. "Where I Am Today" (Mark Holman/ Rhett Akins/ Dallas Davidson/ Ben Hayslip)
  2. "Heartbreak Song" (Greg Crowe/ Johnny Garcia/ Adam Wood)
  3. "Where The Country Girls At (feat. Luke Bryan & Pitbull)" (Monty Criswell/ Derek George/ Michael White)
  4. "Cadillac'n" (Kendell Marvel/ Dan Auerbach/ Paul Overstreet)
  5. "Finding My Groove" (Dan Smalley/ Casey Beathard/ Houston Phillips)
  6. "Cowboy Boots and Jeans" (Jim Beavers/ Lindsay Rimes/ Jonathan Singleton)
  7. "Live It Lonely" (Kelsey Hart/ Kyle Schlienger)
  8. "Love Walks Through The Rain (feat. Melissa Etheridge)" (Mickey Jack Cones/ Marla Cannon-Goodman/ Kelly Archer)
  9. "Honey Child" (Monty Criswell/ Robert Counts/ Jimmy Ritchey)
  10. "It's A Good Thing I Don't Drink" (Kerry Kurt Phillips/ Jamie Teachenor - produced by Mickey Jack Cones/ Kenny Beard)
  11. "Jesus Was A Hippie" (Monty Criswell/ Randy Montana)
  12. "Memory to Memphis (feat. Keb' Mo' & Stevie Wonder on harmonica)" (Monty Criswell/ Derek George/ Curt Chambers)
  13. "You're Mine" (Mickey Jack Cones/ Steven Dale Jones)
  14. "The Way I Wanna Go" (Barry Dean/ Troy Verges/ TJ Osborne/ John Osborne - produced by Jon Coleman)
  15. "It All Adds Up To Us" (Trace Adkins/ Kenny Beard/ Matt Nolan)
  16. "If I Was A Woman (feat. Blake Shelton)" (Trace Adkins/ Sherrié Austin/ Jeff Bates/ Kenny Beard - produced by Mickey Jack Cones/ Kenny Beard)
  17. "Got It Down" (Craig Wiseman/ Brandon Kinney)
  18. "Careful Girl" (Monty Criswell/ Tony Lane/ Brice Long
  19. "Empty Chair" (Lance Miller/ David Frasier/ Lonnie Fowler)
  20. "Cowboy Up" (John Pierce/ Tony Lane/ Jordan Walker)
  21. "Somewhere In America" (Jon Nite/ Hunter Phelps/ Michael Hardy/ Zach Crowell)
  22. "So Do The Neighbors (feat. Snoop Dogg)" (Monty Criswell/ Derek George/ Shane Minor/ Calvin Broadus)
  23. "I Should Let You Go" (Monty Criswell/ Tim Mensy)
  24. "Low Note" (Monty Criswell/ Derek George/ Michael White)
  25. "Welcome To" (Craig Wiseman/ Jacob Rice/ James McCormick)

Now Watch: Meet Country Stars Tim McGraw and Faith Hill's 3 Daughters