The Gatlin Brothers to Receive Huge Texas Honor

Larry, Steve and Rudy Gatlin say they are excited to be the newest inductees into the Texas Cowboy Hall of Fame. The Gatlin Brothers will be formally presented with the 2016 Rick Smith Spirit of Texas Award during a ceremony at the Texas Cowboy Hall of Fame Museum in Fort Worth, Texas, on Jan. 14.

"One of my favorite memories is 'round about 30 years ago, when I got to be a Waggoner cowboy for a day. I'll never forget it," Larry Gatlin said in a statement. "I'm sure that I will never forget this night and the great honor that you real cowboys have bestowed on us sorta cowboys. Keep your powder dry."

The Seminole, Texas native is remembered for his remarkable tenor voice and his appearances on a number of country songs throughout the 1970s and 1980s.

The Gatlins will join an impressive list of country stars who have previously been inducted, including George Strait and Willie Nelson. The 2016 class of Texas Cowboy Hall of Fame inductees also includes Jack Brainard, C.W. Cascio, Dr. Charles Graham and Justin McBride.

The organization says that selected inductees are chosen for their longtime support of rodeo and the Texas lifestyle.

NEXT: 15 Places in the US Where Cowboy Culture Is Alive and Well

recommended for you

The Gatlin Brothers to Receive Huge Texas Honor