Music

Song Premiere: Kelly Willis and Bruce Robison's Spirited 'Nobody's Perfect'

Bruce Robison and Kelly Willis make up one of Americana's most beloved couples and vocal pairings, but their latest release finds comfort in being alone.

"Nobody's Perfect," the debut single from the husband and wife's forthcoming duets album Beautiful Lie (out on June 21 via Robison's The Next Waltz label), centers on a jilted lover who swears off romance until they can find someone who's worth the trouble.

"Nobody won't say they love you when they know it just isn't true," the couple sings. "I could get used to nobody, 'cause nobody's nothing like you."

Willis says the boisterous song is made to be shared on an outdoor stage.

"This song has a big dumb electric guitar vibe that feels very fun and anthemic," Kelly Willis tells Wide Open Country. "I'm dying to play it on a big outdoor stage. Cleverly written by one of our favorite songwriters, Adam Wright."

Listen to "Nobody's Perfect" below.

Beautiful Lie is the follow-up to Willis and Robison's 2014 duets album Our Year. The album was produced by Robison at the Bunker, his all-analog studio in Lockhart, Texas.

The couple kicks off their Beautiful Lie Tour on May 19. See a full list of tour dates below.

Bruce and Kelly Beautiful Lie Tour Dates:

Sunday, May 19 - Theater Barn at Winedale, Round Top, Texas

Friday, May 24 - Coupland Dancehall, Coupland, Texas

Saturday, May 25 - Levitt Pavilion, Arlington, Texas

Thursday, June 13 - Cactus Café, Austin, Texas

Friday, June 14 - Heritage Park, Denison, Texas

Saturday, June 15 - Main Street Crossing, Tomball, Texas

Sunday, June 16 - Love & War in Texas, Plano, Texas

Saturday, June 22 - Continental Club, Austin (Beautiful Lie album release show)

Thursday, June 27 - Discovery Green, Houston, Texas

Friday, June 28 - Haltom Theater, Haltom City, Texas

Saturday, June 29 - Brauntex Theatre, New Braunfels, Texas

Friday, July 19 - Phil Hamilton on the Brazos Music & Float Fest, Glen Rose, Texas

Saturday, July 20 - Tower Theatre, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Sunday, July 21 - Dan's Silverleaf, Denton, Texas

Thursday, July 25 - Songbirds Guitar Museum, Chattanooga, Tennessee

Friday, July 26 - Franklin Theatre, Franklin, Tennessee

Saturday, July 27 - The Foundry, Athens, Georgia

Monday, July 29 - Atwood's Tavern, Cambridge, Massachusetts

Tuesday, July 30 - Hill Country NYC, New York, New York

Wednesday, July 31 - The Locks at Sona, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Thursday, Aug. 1 - Rams Head On Stage, Annapolis, Maryland

Friday, Aug. 2 - The Birchmere, Alexandria, Virginia

Saturday, Aug. 3 - Goode Theatre, Norfolk, Virginia

Saturday, Aug. 10 - Broken Spoke, Austin, Texas

Friday Aug. 23 - The Kessler, Dallas, Texas

Saturday Aug. 24 - The Heights Theater, Houston, Texas

Now Watch: 8 Rising Country Artist to Follow in 2019

recommended for you

Song Premiere: Kelly Willis and Bruce Robison's Spirited 'Nobody's Perfect'