Sammy Kershaw Announces New Record Deal and Album

Sammy Kershaw has a new record deal and is set to release his first album of all-new music in five years.

Cajun crooner Sammy Kershaw is making a country comeback. He’s announced a brand new record deal with Cleopatra Records, which will release Kershaw’s first album of original music in over five years. The album, entitled I Won’t Back Down, will be released June 9.
“At all of our shows, or wherever I go, people keep asking for new music,” Kershaw told The Boot. “I’m glad to have a new record coming their way. They’ve waited a while. Hell, I’ve waited a while.”
Kershaw made his initial rise to fame in the early 1990’s with hits including “Cadillac Style,” “She Don’t Know She’s Beautiful” and “Queen of My Double-Wide Trailer.” He continued his successful career through the 1990’s and into the early 2000’s and released eight studio albums. In the late 2000’s, he took time away some time away from music to focus on his personal life. He also campaigned for the position of Lieutenant Governor in his home state of Louisiana in both 2007 and 2010 but did not win either election.
Last year, Kershaw released Do You Know Me? A Tribute to George Jones on his own label, Big Hit Records. The album debuted in the top 40, which was the first time he had a charted album in over a decade.
The tracklisting for Kershaw’s upcoming album, I Won’t Back Down, is listed below.
1. “Take a Letter Maria”
2. “Lay Back Down”
3. “Grillin’ and Chillin’”
4. “Fixer Upper”
5. “Groove”
6. “I Won’t Back Down”
7. “I Had to Give That Up Too”
8. “I Can’t Wait to Waste a Little Time”
9. “Send in the Rodeo Clowns”
10. “Don’t Move”
11. “Why You Wanna Do Me This Way”
12. “Let’s Lay Here Forever”

Next: Reba, George Strait and Dwight Yoakam Are Back on the Charts

recommended for you

Sammy Kershaw Announces New Record Deal and Album