Ronnie Dunn Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame
Frazer Harrison/Getty Images

Ronnie Dunn, K.T. Oslin Set for Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame

In October, the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame will induct songwriter/artists Ronnie Dunn and K.T. Oslin, and songwriters Byron Hill, Joe Melson and Wayne Kirkpatrick. This year, Reba McEntire will also receive a special honor.

Since 1970, the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame has inducted 208 members into their pool of country music talent. Typically, inductees are placed into one of four categories: songwriter/artist, veteran songwriter/artist, songwriter, and veteran songwriter.

2018's songwriter/artist is none other than Ronnie Dunn. Nominated alongside Toby Keith and Brad Paisley, Dunn stood out for the hit songs he's written like "Believe," "Neon Moon," "She Used to Be Mine," "Little Miss Honky Tonk," and 1992's ACM Song of the Year, "Boot Scootin' Boogie." Dunn's life changed forever after he won the Marlboro Talent Search at a young age and was picked up by Arista Records who paired him with Kix Brooks to form Brooks & Dunn.

"This is a big one for me. Really, really big," Dunn told the Tennessean at the announcement event. "I look around this room, and I kind of have to bow my head in humility with the talent pool that's here."

K.T. Oslin will be honored in the veteran songwriter/artist category. Oslin mentioned that the honor was particularly important to her as she battles Parkinson's Disease. Oslin penned hits like "Hold Me" and "80's Ladies" that brought her fame and recognition. She even became the first female songwriter to win the CMA Song of the Year award.

Read More: Revisit the Rise of Unlikely '80s Megastar K.T. Oslin

Byron Hill, who penned songs for Johnny Lee and George Strait such as "Fool Hearted Memory" and "Pickin' Up Strangers", and Wayne Kirkpatrick, who's written many songs for Little Big Town and Garth Brooks in addition to working on the Broadway musical "Something Rotten!", will both be inducted in the songwriter category. This year's veteran songwriter will be Joe Melson, known for writing for Roy Orbison.

Lastly, Grammy winner Reba McEntire will be the first recipient of the new Career Maker Award due to her impact on the careers of those in the Hall of Fame. Tickets for the 48th Anniversary Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Gala on Sunday, October 28 at the Music City Center are $250, going toward the Nashville Songwriters Foundation. Those interested in attending the illustrious Tennessee event should contact Executive Director Mark Ford at [email protected] or 615-460-6556.

Now Watch: Underrated Country Love Songs of the '90s