Angela Talley

Song Premiere: Ray Stevens Gives 'Goin' Out of My Head' the 'High-Class Bluegrass' Treatment

Country legend Ray Stevens puts a bluegrass spin on Little Anthony and the Imperials' 1964 hit "Goin' Out Of My Head" for his forthcoming album Melancholy Fescue (High Class Bluegrass) (out March 26 via Curb Records).

"'Goin' Out of My Head' was a great record by Little Anthony and the Imperials, and it is a favorite of mine," Stevens tells Wide Open Country. "It is perfect for the 'High-Class Bluegrass' treatment I gave it on my Melancholy Fescue project.  It's a song you just wouldn't ever expect to hear done that way, but it works!"

Listen to "Goin' Out of My Head" below.

Read More: The 10 Best Ray Stevens Songs, Ranked

Melancholy Fescue (High Class Bluegrass), a collection of bluegrass renditions of classic hits, is the second album Stevens has released this year. Last month, the Grammy-winning singer-songwriter released Great Country Ballads. He'll release  Slow Dance on April 23 and Nouveau Retro (What's Old Is New Again) on May 21.

Stevens' bluegrass collection features covers of Roy Orbison's "Pretty Woman," The Righteous Brothers' "Unchained Melody," The Platters' "Twilight Time" and more.

In 2019, Stevens was inducted into the Country Music Hall of Fame. He is a member of the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame, the Georgia Music Hall of Fame and has a star on the Music City Walk of Fame.

In 2018, Stevens opened the popular Nashville entertainment venue, the CabaRay Showroom.

'Melancholy Fescue (High Class Bluegrass)' Track List:

1.    "Ruby/Ruby Baby" (medley)
2.    "Pretty Woman"
3.    "In The Still of The Night / In The Still of The Night" (medley)
4.    "At This Moment"
5.    "Twilight Time"
6.    "Unchained Melody"
7.    "Spring Is Here"
8.    "Sophisticated Lady"
9.    "People"
10.  "Can't Take My Eyes Off You"
11.  "Goin' Out of My Head"
12.  "MacArthur Park"

Now Watch: Tina Turner Began Her Solo Career as a Country Singer