New George Strait Songs Will Be on Upcoming Box Set, ‘Strait Out of the Box, Part 2’

Cooper Neill/Getty Images

Two new George Strait songs will appear on the King of Country Music’s upcoming box set, Strait Out of the Box, Part 2. 

The songs include “Kicked Outta Country,” co-written by Strait and Jamey Johnson. Considering that Johnson co-wrote the song and Strait’s recent comments about modern country, we have a hunch that tune will be about today’s pop-country not sounding like, well, country.

READ MORE: George Strait Serenades the Bushes at 70th Birthday Party

The other new song is “You Gotta Go Through Hell,” penned by Strait, his son Bubba and prolific songwriter Dean Dillon.

Strait is set to perform at the 2016 CMA Awards on Wednesday (Nov. 2), and he may perform one of these two new songs.

The singer also revealed the track listing for the upcoming box set. It’s chock-full of hits and deep cuts spanning from 1996-2016. Look for Strait Out of the Box, Part 2. on Nov. 18.

Strait Out of the Box: Part 2 Track Listing

Disc 1 (1996-2000)

1. Blue Clear Sky

2. Carried Away

3. Rockin’ In The Arms Of Your Memory

4. I Can Still Make Cheyenne

5. Round About Way

6. Carrying Your Love With Me

7. One Night At A Time

8. Today My World Slipped Away

9. The Nerve

10. I Just Want To Dance With You

11. True

12. Maria

13. We Really Shouldn’t Be Doing This

14. Meanwhile

15. Write This Down

16. The Best Day

17. Looking Out My Window Through The Pain

18. Go On

Disc 2 (2001-2008)

1. She’ll Leave You With A Smile

2. Run

3. Living and Living Well

4. My Life’s Been Grand

5. Cowboys Like Us

6. Desperately

7. Four Down and Twelve Across

8. I Hate Everything

9. Seashores of Old Mexico

10. She Let Herself Go

11. Give It Away

12. Wrapped

13. It Just Comes Natural

14. Texas Cookin’

15. How ’Bout Them Cowgirls

16. Come On Joe

17. Troubadour

18. River Of Love

19. I Saw God Today

Disc 3 (2009-2016)

1. Living For The Night

2. Out Of Sight Out Of Mind

3. Arkansas Dave

4. Love’s Gonna Make It Alright

5. Drinkin’ Man

6. Shame On Me

7. Here For A Good Time

8. House Across The Bay

9. Blue Marlin Blues

10. I’ll Always Remember You

11. Give It All We Got Tonight

12. I Just Can’t Go On Dying Like This

13. That’s What Breaking Hearts Do

14. The Night Is Young

15. I Believe

16. Goin’ Goin’ Gone

17. Everything I See

18. Kicked Outta Country*

19. You Gotta Go Through Hell*

Revisit The Most Shocking Moments in Country Music

recommended for you

New George Strait Songs Will Be on Upcoming Box Set, ‘Strait Out of the Box, Part 2’