Harper Smith

Midland, Brett Young and Lauren Alaina Announced as Early Winners of 2018 ACM Awards

The Academy of Country Music Awards don't air until April 15, but a few artists can start celebrating early. Midland, Lauren Alaina and Brett Young were named early winners of the 2018 ACM Awards. The 2018 ACM Awards host Reba McEntire called and broke the news to each of the excited artists. Midland won the 2018 ACM award for New Vocal Group of the Year. Brett Young won New Male Vocalist of the Year. Lauren Alaina won New Female Vocalist of the Year.

The ACM Awards twitter account shared video of the artists receiving the news. The members of Midland were left speechless by the news and found it hard to believe that country legend Reba McEntire was the one breaking the news.

Brett Young said "We're gonna go ahead and call this the beginning of the day because there's no better way to start it."

Read More: What Country Fans Can Expect from the 2018 ACM Awards

Lauren Alaina had a tearful response to the news that she was named New Female Vocalist of the Year. McEntire told Alaina how proud she was of the singer's success, saying "This is what our business needs, more like you."

The 2018 ACM Awards will be held Sunday, April 15 in Las Vegas and will air on CBS at 7 p.m. Central Standard Time. Keith Urban, Blake Shelton, Miranda Lambert, Maren Morris and Jason Aldean are among the artists set to perform during the ceremony.

Now Watch: The 10 Best Country Karaoke Songs