Merle Haggard's 'Christmas Present' is Coming to Vinyl this Holiday Season

Frazer Harrison/Getty Images

Merle Haggard's 1973 holiday-themed record Christmas Party is coming to vinyl. It's been years since the LP has been widely available, but now its getting a rebirth, just in time for Christmas.

Following Haggard's passing earlier this year, Universal Music Enterprises opted to rerelease the beloved record for a new generation to enjoy. The album includes the country legend's massive No. 1 hit, "If We Make it Through December." Although it's far from a traditional, sparky holiday song, the track's narrative of struggling through layoffs during the holidays connected with listeners instantly.

READ MORE: Hear Cody Jinks' Reverential Cover of Merle Haggard's 'The Way I Am'

Along with a few originals, you'll also find Haggard's renditions of classics like "Silver Bells" and "Winter Wonderland." Although it's still heartbreaking to lose a legend like the Hag, it's comforting to hear some of his best tunes back in its original format.

You can currently purchase Merle Haggard's Christmas Present via Amazon.

Merle Haggard's Christmas Present Track Listing:
Side A
1. "If We Make It Through December"
2. "Santa Claus And Popcorn"
3. "Bobby Wants A Puppy Dog For Christmas"
4. "Daddy Won't Be Home Again For Christmas"
5. "Grandma's Homemade Christmas Card"

Side B
1. "White Christmas"
2. "Silver Bells"
3. "Winter Wonderland"
4. "Silent Night"
5. "Jingle Bells"

oembed rumble video here

recommended for you

Merle Haggard's 'Christmas Present' is Coming to Vinyl this Holiday Season