CHICAGO, ILLINOIS - AUGUST 03: Lainey Wilson performs during Lollapalooza at Grant Park on August 03, 2023 in Chicago, Illinois.
Barry Brecheisen/WireImage

Lainey Wilson Makes History By Leading All 2023 CMA Awards Nominees

Lainey Wilson's career rise has rewritten the CMA Awards record book.

Lainey Wilson got her named called more times than anyone else during Thursday's (Sept. 7) unveiling of the 2023 CMA Awards nominees. Among Wilson's nine nominations was one for Entertainer of the Year, placing her in the same field as Carrie Underwood, Chris Stapleton, Morgan Wallen and, in a bid for his third consecutive win in the evening's top category, Luke Combs.

Wilson made history by becoming the first artist to lead all nominees in their first two years on the ballot. Last year, Wilson picked up six nods.

The latest verification that he's one of country music's newest superstars, first-time nominee Jelly Roll came in second with six nominations. Hardy and Combs also got their names called often, with both netting four nominations apiece.

ABC will air the 57th annual CMA Awards live on Wed., Nov. 8 from Nashville's Bridgestone Arena at 8 p.m. EST.

2023 CMA Awards Nominees

Entertainer of the Year

  • Luke Combs
  • Chris Stapleton
  • Carrie Underwood
  • Morgan Wallen
  • Lainey Wilson

Single of the Year

  • "Fast Car" - Luke Combs (Producers: Luke Combs, Chip Matthews, Jonathan Singleton, Mix Engineer: Chip Matthews)
  • "Heart Like A Truck" - Lainey Wilson (Producer: Jay Joyce, Mix Engineers: Jason Hall, Jay Joyce)
  • "Need A Favor" - Jelly Roll (Producer: Austin Nivarel, Mix Engineer: Jeff Braun)
  • "Next Thing You Know" - Jordan Davis (Producer: Paul DiGiovanni, Mix Engineer: Jim Cooley)
  • "Wait in The Truck" - HARDY (feat. Lainey Wilson) (Producers: HARDY, Joey Moi, Jordan Schmidt, Derek Wells, Mix Engineer: Joey Moi)

Album of the Year

  • Ashley McBryde Presents: Lindeville — Ashley McBryde
  • Bell Bottom Country — Lainey Wilson
  • Gettin' Old — Luke Combs
  • One Thing At A Time — Morgan Wallen
  • Rolling Up the Welcome Mat — Kelsea Ballerini

Song of the Year

  • "Fast Car" — Songwriter: Tracy Chapman
  • "Heart Like A Truck" — Songwriters: Trannie Anderson, Dallas Wilson, Lainey Wilson
  • "Next Thing You Know" — Songwriters: Jordan Davis, Greylan James, Chase McGill, Josh Osborne
  • "Tennessee Orange" — Songwriters: David Fanning, Paul Jenkins, Megan Moroney, Ben Williams
  • "Wait in The Truck" — Songwriters: Renee Blair, Michael Hardy, Hunter Phelps, Jordan Schmidt

Female Vocalist of the Year

  • Kelsea Ballerini
  • Miranda Lambert
  • Ashley McBryde
  • Carly Pearce
  • Lainey Wilson

Male Vocalist of the Year

  • Luke Combs
  • Jelly Roll
  • Cody Johnson
  • Chris Stapleton
  • Morgan Wallen

Vocal Group of the Year

  • Lady A
  • Little Big Town
  • Midland
  • Old Dominion
  • Zac Brown Band

Vocal Duo of the Year

  • Brooks & Dunn
  • Brothers Osborne
  • Dan + Shay
  • Maddie & Tae
  • The War And Treaty

Musical Event of the Year

  • "Save Me" — Jelly Roll (with Lainey Wilson) (Producers: Zach Crowell, David Ray Stevens)
  • "She Had Me At Heads Carolina (Remix)" — Cole Swindell & Jo Dee Messina (Producer: Zach Crowell)
  • "Thank God" — Kane Brown (with Katelyn Brown) (Producer: Dann Huff)
  • "Wait in the Truck" — HARDY (feat. Lainey Wilson) (Producers: HARDY, Joey Moi, Jordan Schmidt, Derek Wells)
  • "We Don't Fight Anymore" — Carly Pearce (featuring Chris Stapleton) (Producers: Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne, Carly Pearce)

Musician of the Year

  • Jenee Fleenor
  • Paul Franklin
  • Rob McNelley
  • Derek Wells
  • Charlie Worsham

Music Video of the Year

  • "Light On In The Kitchen" — Ashley McBryde (Director: Reid Long)
  • "Memory Lane" — Old Dominion (Directors: Mason Allen, Nicki Fletcher)
  • "Need A Favor" — Jelly Roll (Director: Patrick Tohill)
  • "Next Thing You Know" — Jordan Davis (Director: Running Bear)
  • "Wait in The Truck" — HARDY (feat. Lainey Wilson) (Director: Justin Clough)

New Artist of the Year

  • Zach Bryan
  • Jelly Roll
  • Parker McCollum
  • Megan Moroney
  • Hailey Whitters

READ MORE: Ty Herndon Marries Alex Schwartz in Gorgeous Tennessee Wedding