Kacey Musgraves Announces New Album, 'Pageant Material'

Universal Music Group Nashville

Miss Musgraves aims to take home the crown with her new album, 'Pageant Material'.

Kacey Musgraves, the Texas spitfire who took home Grammy Awards for Best Country Album and Song of the Year for "Merry Go Round" in 2014, has announced the upcoming release of her new album, Pageant Material.

Musgrave's teased the album cover on Instagram and revealed that it was photographed and designed by her sister, Kelly Musgraves Sutton.

Her sophomore LP, set to drop June 23, is quite the departure from her debut album. Pageant Material was co-produced by Musgraves and industry heavy-hitters Shane McAnally and Luke Lair. Musgraves co-wrote the songs with her usual group of hit songwriters: Laird, McAnally, Brandy Clark and Josh Osborne.

The album was recorded live in Nashville's historic RCA Studio A. Musgraves carefully selected a talented group of studio musicians that played together and recorded all 13 tracks live in one room, which created a "much more classic and concise sound", Musgraves revealed on Instagram.

"As this project culminated it was my intention for its songs to air my perspective as I am now: a 26 year old who hasn't lost her small town heart and old soul but who has gotten to see the world. Then to record them in a way that sets an honest, simple, and conclusive tone (but one that isn't taking itself too seriously)", Musgraves wrote.

If her first single off the album "Biscuits" is any indicator of how the rest of the album will perform, then she's in for quite the chart-topping ride.

SEE ALSO:  Tasty Biscuits and Gravy Recipe Inspired By Kacey Musgraves 'Biscuits'

Here is the track listing for Pageant Material.

Pageant Material track listing (and songwriters):
1. "High Time" (Kacey Musgraves, Luke Laird, Shane McAnally)
2. "Dime Store Cowgirl" (Musgraves, Laird, McAnally)
3. "Late to the Party" (Musgraves, Brandy Clark, Josh Osborne)
4. "Pageant Material" (Musgraves, Laird, McAnally)
5. "This Town" (Musgraves, Laird, Clark)
6. "Biscuits" (Musgraves, McAnally, Clark)
7. "Somebody to Love" (Musgraves, McAnally, Osborne)
8. "Miserable" (Musgraves, Osborne, Clark)
9. "Die Fun" (Musgraves, Laird, McAnally)
10. "Family Is Family" (Musgraves, McAnally, Osborne)
11. "Good Ol' Boys Club" (Musgraves, Laird, Hemby)
12. "Cup of Tea" (Musgraves, McAnally, Osborne)
13. "Fine" (Musgraves, Ashley Arrison, McAnally)

recommended for you

Kacey Musgraves Announces New Album, 'Pageant Material'