John Schneider's 'Truck On!' Album Raises Funds For Truckers in Need

John Schneider lauds every hardworking truck driver on America's highways as the "John Wayne of the open road" with the title track of his new album, Truck On! (BFD/Audium Nashville and Maven Entertainment).

Schneider paired his recording of songwriter Keith Burns' blue-collar anthem with a music video that features scenes from the actor and country singer's 2020 film Stand On It. The movie pays homage to the car chases many associate with the Smokey and the Bandit series of action-comedy films and Schneider's role as Bo Duke on the classic TV show The Dukes of Hazzard.

Beyond the title track, Schneider sticks with the trucking theme (new songs "Born at a Truck Stop" and "Haulin' Hell and Bayou Bound") while exploring rock and country music's back pages with covers of Paul Revere and the Raiders' "Free Born Man" and Charlie Rich's "Behind Closed Doors."

"The music is a bit of a throwback to those great Southern rock songs of my childhood that got your blood pumping, your eyes on the road and fed your spirit with the notion that you can go anywhere on that road out there," Schneider told People. "Left or right. North or South. It's all up to you!"

Read More: Gospel Album 'I Love To Tell The Story' Won Andy Griffith a Grammy Award

Per a press release, a portion of album proceeds will go to the St. Christopher Truckers Relief Fund, a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization that helps over-the-road/regional semi-truck drivers and their families who are out of work due to a recent illness or injury (including the ongoing COVID-19 (coronavirus) pandemic). Assistance may be in the form of direct payment to providers for household living expenses, such as rent/mortgage, utilities, vehicle payments and insurance. The SCF also provides health and wellness programs such as free vaccines and smoking cessation.

Schneider topped the country charts four times between 1984 and 1986 with the songs "I've Been Around Enough to Know", "Country Girls", "What's a Memory Like You" and "You're the Last Thing I Needed Tonight."

Truck On Track Listing:

1. "Truck On"
2. "Roy"
3. "Born at a Truck Stop"
4. "Cowboys Don't Get Old"
5. "Drinking Buddy"
6. "Bottom of the 5th"
7. "Comin' To"
8. 'Haulin' Hell and Bayou Bound"
9. "Free Born Man"
10. "Stand On It"
11. "Behind Closed Doors"

Now Watch: The 5 Most Memorable CMA Awards Show Moments

recommended for you

John Schneider's 'Truck On!' Album Raises Funds For Truckers in Need