John Carter Cash Johnny Cash Heritage Festival
Terry Wyatt/Getty Images

John Carter Cash Announces New Album, 'We Must Believe in Magic'

John Carter Cash, musician and son of Johnny Cash and June Carter Cash, has announced that he'll release a new two-disc LP, We Must Believe in Magic, on April 21 (Record Store Day).

The album is a collection of original songs written by John Carter Cash and songs that were co-written by Shawn Camp, Wesley Orbison and Bill Miller. We Must Believe in Magic features appearances by some of the biggest stars in bluegrass. Jerry Douglas, Sam Bush, Tony Rice and Ronnie and Rob McCoury all appear on the record. The Fisk Jubiliee Singers, Ana Cristina Cash, Jamie Hartford and Ira Dean are among some of the other musicians involved.

We Must Believe in Magic will also include a cover of Trent Reznor's "Hurt," which was given new life by Cash's father when he covered the song in 2002 for American IV: The Man Comes Around, along with John Prine's "Paradise" and Charlie Rich's "Feel Like Going Home. The title track was written by legendary Nashville songwriters Bob McDill and Allen Reynolds and originally recorded by Crystal Gayle.

Read More: Willie Nelson and Kris Kristofferson Honor Johnny Cash With 'Forever / I Still Miss Someone'

On April 6, John Carter Cash will release Johnny Cash: Forever Words, a collection of Johnny Cash's poems set to music by Alison Krauss and Union Station, Kacey Musgraves, Willie Nelson, Kris Kristofferson and more. 

We Must Believe in Magic Track List:

"We Must Believe in Magic"
"Feel Like Going Home"
"Brave Young Man"
"Dragon Song"
"Runaway Train"
"Prayers for St. Regis"
"The Dungeon"
"Heaven's Song"
"Holy Train"
"Dance With Me"
"Awake Sweet Dreamer"
"Jayne Hill"
"Let the Lower Lights Be Burning"
"Poor Boy & the Captain's Daughter"
"Into the Blue"

Now Watch: Songs Every Waylon Jennings Fan Knows By Heart