Jason Boland and the Stragglers
Facebook/Jason Boland and the Stragglers

Jason Boland and The Stragglers Celebrate 20 Years Together With 'Hard Times Are Relative'


It's been 20 years since Jason Boland and The Stragglers first charted their shared path as independent-minded musicians. Together, they still suit listeners' Red Dirt desires by acknowledging their home state of Oklahoma's musical past, living out of their suitcases and refusing to compromise and chase trends. Their journey as modern day renegades continues with new album Hard Times Are Relative, out May 18 via Thirty Tigers.

The band, David Percefull and Mike and the Moonpies' go-to guy Adam Odor co-produced the album. It's the band's first full-length since 2015's Squelch and their ninth album overall.

Coming May 18th!! #jasonbolandandthestragglers #jasonboland #countrymusic #reddirtmusic #texascountry

Posted by Jason Boland & The Stragglers on Tuesday, March 13, 2018


Read More: 25 of the Best Country and Americana Live Albums of All Time

Growing interest in roots-based country finally caught up with Boland's classic honky-tonk approach, with Squelch cracking the top 20. It reached number 11 on the Top Country Albums chart after selling over 4,000 copies the week of its debut. Time will tell how far an additional three years of grassroots support, including a recent tour with Shooter Jennings, inches Hard Times Are Relative up the charts.

Hard Times Are Relative Track Listing

1. "I Don't Deserve You"
2. "Hard Times Are Relative"
3. "Right Where I Began"
4. "Searching for You"
5. "Do You Remember When"
6. "Dee Dee OD'd"
7. "Going, Going, Gone"
8. "Tattoo of a Bruise"
9. "Predestined"
10. "Grandfather's Theme"

Now Watch: 10 Things You Didn't Know About George Strait