Thomas Rhett Die a Happy Man
Christopher Polk/Getty Images

Sam Hunt, Thomas Rhett and Luke Combs Take Home 2018 iHeartRadio Music Awards

On Sunday, March 11 at The Forum in Los Angeles, the 2018 iHeartRadio Music Awards brought together today's popular artists to compete for the honor of a win and a stylized trophy (which looks a radio tower with a heart on top.) Since the iHeartRadio Music Awards encapsulates all types of popular music, there were three categories dedicated specifically to country music.

Sam Hunt happily took home the award for Country Song of the Year for "Body Like a Back Road." He was nominated alongside "Dirt On My Boots" by Jon Pardi, "Hurricane" from Luke Combs, "Small Town Boy" by Dustin Lynch and "Unforgettable" from Thomas Rhett.

Though Rhett and Combs didn't win in that category, they took home the other two country awards. Thomas Rhett snagged Country Artist of the Year. He recorded a video acceptance speech released a couple of days before the show.

Read More: Thomas Rhett Scores His 10th No. 1 Single With 'Marry Me'

Luke Combs won the New Country Artist of the Year award for 2018. Brett Young, Jon Pardi, Kane Brown and Lauren Alaina were among the other nominees for the award. Combs was also nominated for the inclusive category of Best New Artist along with Niall Horan, Christian Nodal, Judah & the Lion, Ozuna, Khalid and Cardi B, who took home the prize.

2018 iHeart Radio Music Awards Country Music Winners

Country Song of the Year:
"Body Like A Back Road" - Sam Hunt - WINNER
"Dirt On My Boots" - Jon Pardi
"Hurricane" - Luke Combs
"Small Town Boy" - Dustin Lynch
"Unforgettable" - Thomas Rhett

Country Artist of the Year:
Blake Shelton
Jason Aldean
Luke Bryan
Sam Hunt
Thomas Rhett - WINNER

Best New Country Artist:
Brett Young
Jon Pardi
Kane Brown
Lauren Alaina
Luke Combs - WINNER

Now Watch: Shocking Moments in Country Music