Everything You Need to Know About Don Henley’s New Country Album

Eagles band member Don Henley has shared new details about his forthcoming country album, Cass County.

Although he’s wrapping up the Eagles’ two-year long farewell tour, Henley has wasted no time diving into a brand new musical project. Cass County, which will be released Sept. 25, will be the musician’s first solo release since his 2000 album, Inside Job. The album will also be his first completely country-oriented project, which he says was inspired by his early life in Texas.

“I’m associated with California a lot because of that other band that I play in,” Henley said, according to Rolling Stone Country, “but I really and truly was born and raised in Cass County, Texas. I’m a Southerner and a Texan. I have ancestors in Tennessee, Mississippi and Georgia. So this is a natural progression for me. It’s not me trying to do the ‘Don Henley country album.’ It’s who I am and where I come from.”

His new album features special “appearances” by some of his best friends in the music industry, including Dolly Parton, Miranda Lambert and Merle Haggard. Although official tour dates haven’t been announced, Henley is set to play shows in Atlanta, Chicago, Dallas, Denver, Detroit, Los Angeles, Nashville, New York City, Philadelphia, San Francisco and Washington D.C.

Cass County tracklisting:

1. “Bramble Rose” (with Mick Jagger and Miranda Lambert)
2. “The Cost of Living” (with Merle Haggard)
3. “Take A Picture of This”
4. “Waiting Tables”
5. “No, Thank You”
6. “Praying for Rain”
7. “Words Can Break Your Heart”
8. “That Old Flame” (with Martina McBride)
9. “When I Stop Dreaming” (with Dolly Parton)
10. “A Younger Man”
11. “Train In The Distance”
12. “Where I Am Now”

Next: 13 Classic Rock Albums Every Country Fan Should Own

recommended for you

Everything You Need to Know About Don Henley’s New Country Album