Eric Church Releases Surprise Album, ‘Mr. Misunderstood’

Some lucky Eric Church fans woke up to a very special surprise in their mailbox this morning.

On Nov. 3, many members of the artist’s Church Choir fan club received a package that included an unannounced, 10-track album called Mr. Misunderstood. Fans have been excitedly sharing photos of their unexpected gifts through their social media pages.

The new set of songs, mostly driven by guitar and piano, feature a more stripped-down production style than Church’s latest studio album, The Outsiders. The track listing includes previously unreleased tracks that Church has played during his recent live shows, including “Three Year Old,” a song written about his oldest son, Boone.

So far, Church’s team hasn’t commented on the surprise release. It’s likely that the full album will be formally released later this week, but that has not yet been confirmed. Church is currently preparing to kick off the 49th annual CMA Awards in Nashville with a duet with Hank Williams Jr. The ceremony will be broadcast live on ABC today (Nov. 4) at 7 P.M. CDT.

Eric Church, Mr. Misunderstood track listing:
1. “Mr. Misunderstood”
2. “Mistress Named Music”
3. “Chattanooga Lucy”
4. “Mixed Drinks About Feelings”
5. “Knives of New Orleans”
6. “Round Here Buzz”
7. “Kill a Word”
8. “Holdin’ My Own”
9. “Record Year”
10. “Three Year Old”

recommended for you

Eric Church Releases Surprise Album, ‘Mr. Misunderstood’