Dwight Yoakam Releases Track Listing for New Bluegrass Album

Dwight Yoakam will release his “greatest hits” album Swimmin’ Pools, Movie Stars on Sept. 23, but we’re already getting a glimpse of what to expect from the much anticipated project. Yoakam recently released the track listing and cover art for the record, which features bluegrass re-recordings of Yoakam’s signature hits, as well as some deep cuts.

Yoakam, who is releasing the album via Sugar Hill Records, co-produced the record with Jon Randall and Grammy-winner Gary Paczosa. In classic Yoakam fashion, the singer mixes his country roots with West Coast flair, splitting studio time between Zac Brown’s Southern Ground studio in Nashville and Capitol Records Studio B in Los Angeles.

For the project, Yoakam enlisted an all-star troupe of bluegrass players, including Grammy winner and International Bluegrass Music Association Guitar Player of the Year Bryan Sutton on guitar, Grammy-winning Stuart Duncan on fiddle and banjo and Adam Steffey on mandolin.

Yoakam has always been vocal about his love for bluegrass music. He even joined Ralph Stanley, who he’s cited as a major influence, for a performance of “I’ll Be Gone” on the American Music Shop.

Among the tracks listed are Yoakam’s 1986 hit “Guitars, Cadillacs,” from his debut album Guitars, Cadillacs, Etc., Etc. and lesser known album cuts, such as the gorgeous “Two Doors Down,” from This Time. There’s not yet confirmation on whether the closing track “Purple Rain” is a cover of the iconic Prince song but given Yoakam’s appreciation for great artistry across all genres and the many country artists who’ve paid tribute to The Purple One in recent months, it’s highly likely.

Dwight Yoakam’s Swimmin’ Pools, Movie Stars Track Listing:
1. What I Don’t Know
2. Free To Go
3. Sad, Sad Music
4. These Arms
5. I Wouldn’t Put It Past Me
6. Listen
7. Two Doors Down
8. Guitars, Cadillacs
9. Home For Sale
10. Please, Please Baby
11. Gone (That’ll Be Me)
12. Purple Rain

recommended for you

Dwight Yoakam Releases Track Listing for New Bluegrass Album