Chris Young Releases New Single "Break Like You Do"

Jordan Strauss/Invision/AP

It's safe to say that Chris Young has been teasing his fans on social media about his forthcoming new album "Famous Friends" quite a bit! As the August 6th release date is getting near, he decided to surprise his fans with "Break Like You Do." The ballot was written by Young himself, Matt Rogers, Anthony Smith, and Chris DeStefano. Destefano has previously worked with Lauren Alaina, Kelly Clarkson, and Carrie Underwood, while Rogers has written several hits for Brett Eldredge, Dustin Lynch, and Randy Houser.

"Break Like You Do" fits very well into the country singers previous singles, with lyrics like, "I see you're doing well / Well, I'm not / Got someone new in your life / Well, I don't / I been busy wanting' you back / And you been busy movin' on way too fast."

The new song is about a lover who was in a committed relationship and he's struggling to move on after breaking up with his partner. The lover wishes to handle the breakup better as they watch their former partner move on quickly and with grace. He sings, "I don't drink like you do / I can't just have one / 'Cause I'm still drinkin' 'bout us / So I'll probably get drunk."

"Break Like You Do" is one of 14 country songs on the album. The title track, which features Kane Brown, recently reached number one on country radio charts. About the album, Young stated, "There are so many incredibly talented artists, songwriters and producers -- all friends of mine -- who helped make this album possible. Having friends share their talents as collaborators, songwriters, producers and more, it's only natural to call the album "Famous Friends.""

"Famous Friends" comes after the country singer's 2017 "Losing Sleep," album. The album is said to include tracks "Rescue Me," "Raised on Country," "Drowning," "Town Ain't Big Enough," with Lauren Alaina, and "At the End of the Bar" with Mitchell Tenpenny.

Young came to fame back in 2016 when he was a contestant on the television show "Nashville Star" winning season 4. He was then signed to RCA Records Nashville and released his self-titled debut album that same year. The album produced two successful shingles "Drinkin' Me Lonely" and "You're Gonna Love Me." In 2017 he gained a very successful achievement in country music by becoming a member of the Grand Ole Opry.

Famous Friends Tracklist

  • "Raised on Country"
  • "Famous Friends" (with Kane Brown)
  • "Town Ain't Big Enough" (with Lauren Alaina)
  • "Drowning""Rescue Me"
  • "Break Like You Do"
  • "At the End of a Bar" (with Mitchell Tenpenny)
  • "Love Looks Good on You"
  • "One of Them Nights"
  • "When You're Drinking"
  • "Cross Every Line"
  • "Hold My Beer Watch This"
  • "Best Seat in the House"
  • "Tonight We're Dancing"

Now Watch: Chris Young Hits the Beach in New Video for 'Hangin' On'


recommended for you

Chris Young Releases New Single "Break Like You Do"