Carrie Underwood My Savior
Kevin Mazur/Getty Images for ACM

Carrie Underwood's 'Great is Thy Faithfulness' Duet With CeCe Winans Wins Dove Award

Carrie Underwood dropped some huge news during a Christmas day 2020 video message posted to social media: My Savior, a gospel album companion to holiday music collection My Gift, would arrive in time for Easter.

The album continues to reap rewards, picking up a GMA (Gospel Music Association) Dove Award in October (Inspirational Recorded Song of the Year for CeCe Winans duet "Great Is Thy Faithfulness"). Underwood, whose first GMA win came in 2006 for "Jesus Take the Wheel" (Country Recorded Song of the Year), also picked up a Dove Award nomination in 2021 for Bluegrass/Country/Roots Album of the Year.

Underwood spotlighted some of the album's strongest selections with a gospel medley at the 2021 ACM Awards (aired by CBS on April 18). She sang "Amazing Grace" before being joined by Winans for "Great Is Thy Faithfulness" and "The Old Rugged Cross." Underwood closed the four-song performance with a soul-stirring, show-stopping solo performance of "How Great Thou Art."

The March 26 release includes a version of classic 19th century hymn "Nothing But the Blood of Jesus" featuring the vocal talents of NEEDTOBREATHE lead singer Bear Rinehart.

Underwood credits the Christian rocker with making an old favorite "sound a little more current."

The song hit the internet on March 10, which happened to be Underwood's 38th birthday.

On Jan. 19, she announced a March 26 release date and shared a behind-the-scenes video from the making of the album. A track list followed in February, as did the first song shared from the album: the traditional altar call hymn "Softly and Tenderly." Even if you didn't grow up in church, you've surely learned this one from Alan Jackson.

Earlier in March, she shared a rendition of "How Great Thou Art" featuring Winans.

"Getting a chance to collaborate with Carrie was awesome," Winans said in a behind-the-scenes video on Underwood's Facebook page. "I've been a fan of hers. I think she's an incredible vocalist, and to hear her sing 'Great Is Thy Faithfulness' really just brought it all alive. So I'm excited, and you're going to be blessed."

The American Idol winner turned Grammy-winning country music superstar is no stranger to sharing her faith through song, from early career hit "Jesus Take the Wheel" to a revered live performance of "How Great Thou Art" featuring Vince Gill.

"It's just been such a blessing to make music like this, music that is near and dear to my heart. I hope you guys enjoy listening to it as much as I loved making it," Underwood added in her Christmas Day message. "Thanks again for the My Gift support and I hope you like this gift and I hope you like it when it comes out. Until then, Merry Christmas, Happy New Year, sending lots of love."

My Gift has topped Billboard's Top Holiday Albums and Top Country Albums charts. Standout tracks include John Legend duet "Hallelujah." The Christmas album led to an HBO Max special of the same title.

Read More: Brad Paisley Replaces Fellow Songwriter Taylor Swift on Nashville Mural

The new gospel album left 2018's Cry Pretty as Underwood's most recent album of brand-new country songs.

Underwood's 2020 brought fans not just a Christmas album that's impacted the country charts but also an ACM Entertainer of the Year award (shared with Thomas Rhett) plus numerous pics and videos on social media co-starring her husband Mike Fisher and their sons, Isaiah and Jacob.

My Savior Track Listing

1. "Jesus Loves Me (Instrumental)"
2. "Nothing But the Blood of Jesus"
3. "Blessed Assurance"
4. "Just As I Am"
5. "Victory in Jesus"
6. "Great Is Thy Faithfulness (feat. CeCe Winans)"
7. "O How I Love Jesus"
8. "How Great Thou Art"
9. "Because He Lives"
10. "The Old Rugged Cross"
11. "I Surrender All"
12. "Softly and Tenderly"
13. "Amazing Grace"


Products featured on Wide Open Country are independently selected by our editors. However, when you buy something through our links, we may earn a commission.