Lorie Liebig

Here's Who Won at the 2018 Ameripolitan Music Awards

This year's Ameripolitan Music Awards show was held on Feb. 13 in Memphis, Tenn. Artists with honky tonk, western swing, rockabilly and outlaw backgrounds came together to celebrate today's traditional country music that doesn't get the same airplay and recognition as mainstream country music.

Only in its fifth year, the Ameripolitan Music Awards were created as a means to "benefit and acknowledge artists whose work does not readily conform to the tastes of today's 'country' or other music genres and organizations," according to their website.

With 16 categories, the awards show honors female, male and group artists from each music genre, and also gives a nod toward the best venue, festival and DJ. Nikki Lane, who was recently revealed to be headlining the Luck Reunion, performed and took home the award for Outlaw Female.

2018 Ameripolitan Music Awards Winners:

Honky Tonk Female: Brennen Leigh
Honky Tonk Male: Luke Bell
Honky Tonk Group: The Reeves Brothers
Outlaw Female: Nikki Lane
Outlaw Male: Cody Jinks
Outlaw Group: Whitey Morgan and the 78's
Rockabilly Female: Bailey Dee
Rockabilly Male: Al Dual
Rockabilly Group: The Go Getters
Western Swing Female: Sophia Johnson
Western Swing Male: Billy Matta
Western Swing Group: The Carolyn Sills Combo
Musician of the Year: Chris Scruggs
Venue of the Year: Sportsmen's Tavern, Buffalo, N.Y.
Festival of the Year: New England Shake Up, Sturbridge, Mass.
DJ of the Year: WB Walker, Old Soul Radio Show Podcast

Now Watch: Do You Remember the Western That Starred the Highwaymen?