Alison Krauss
Jim Dyson/Getty Images

Alison Krauss Announces New Album of Classic Covers, 'Windy City'

Twenty-seven-time Grammy Award winner Alison Krauss is gearing up to release a unique new album this February.

Krauss' forthcoming album, Windy City, is a collection of 10 classic songs that she carefully selected with Nashville producer Buddy Cannon. She was determined to collaborate with Cannon for this record, even if she didn't yet know what songs she would be recording.

"Usually it's just all songs first," she said in a press release. "It was the first time I'd ever not had songs picked out and it was just about a person."

Krauss knew she had to work with Cannon on a covers project after she collaborated with him in the studio for a Jamey Johnson album.

"That was absolutely the moment," she gushed. "Wow! Buddy really makes me want to do a good job."

Together, they carefully picked the 10 tracks that include classic songs like "Gentle On My Mind" and "You Don't Know Me." "Losing You," which was originally recorded by Brenda Lee for a 1963 album, is the first release from the album. Fans can download that track right now via iTunes.

This is Krauss' first release on Capitol Records and her first album without her band Union Station since 2007's Raising Sand. You can enjoy Windy City in its entirety when it drops on Feb. 17.

Alison Krauss' Windy City Track Listing:
1. "Losing You"
2. "It's Goodbye And So Long To You"
3. "Windy City"
4. "I Never Cared For You"
5. "River In The Rain"
6. "Dream Of Me"
7. "Gentle On My Mind"
8. "All Alone Am I"
9. "Poison Love"
10. "You Don't Know Me"

Watch Randy Travis' Incredible Performance of "Amazing Grace"