ACM Awards Announce Song, Songwriter of the Year Nominations

Facebook/Chris Stapleton

The nominees for the final two 2016 ACM Awards categories were revealed earlier this week.

On Feb. 18, the Academy of Country Music revealed their picks for Song of the Year and Songwriter of the Year. Chris Stapleton earned nods in both categories as an artist and songwriter, bringing his impressive total of nominations to seven.

This year’s Songwriter of the Year category includes Shane McAnally, who won in 2013 for his work on Kacey MusgravesSame Trailer Different Park, and Josh Osborne, who co-wrote five tracks from Sam Hunt‘s breakthrough album, Montevallo.

You can see who walks away with the honors when the 51st ACM Awards, co-hosted by Luke Bryan and Dierks Bentley, are broadcast live on CBS April 3 at 8 p.m. ET.

Song of the Year Nominees (Awarded to songwriters, publishers and artists)

  • “Burning House” – Cam
    Songwriters: Jeffrey Bhasker, Tyler Johnson, Cam
  • “Girl Crush” – Little Big Town
    Songwriters: Hillary Lindsey, Lori McKenna, Liz Rose
  • “Nobody to Blame” – Chris Stapleton
    Songwriters: Chris Stapleton, Barry Bales, Ronnie Bowman
  • “Raise ’Em Up” – Keith Urban featuring Eric Church
    Songwriters: Tom Douglas, Jaren Johnston, Jeffrey Steele
  • “She Don’t Love You” – Eric Paslay
    Songwriters: Eric Paslay, Jennifer Wayne

Songwriter of the Year Nominees

  • Rodney Clawson
  • Ross Copperman
  • Ashley Gorley
  • Shane McAnally
  • Josh Osborne

recommended for you

ACM Awards Announce Song, Songwriter of the Year Nominations