10 Things You Didn’t Know Were Illegal in the South

In Florida, it's illegal for unmarried women to parachute on Sundays.

We have laws to maintain order in America, and most make sense, but there are some strange laws that just seem downright bizarre. Most of these are decency laws that were passed during a bygone era. Why, for instance, can’t people in Georgia carry an ice-cream cone in their back pocket, aside from the obvious discomfort? Here are 10 strange laws in the southern United States that will definitely get you giggling.

There’s an illegal way to say “Arkansas”

It is illegal to mispronounce Arkansas “Ark-KAN-saw.” This law came on the books in 1881, a scant 45 years after Arkansas became a state. Apparently, there were some upstarts who wanted to place the emphasis on the second syllable, but this law put those troublemakers in their place.

No bear wrestling in Oklahoma

It is illegal to promote, engage in, or be employed at a bear wrestling exhibition or horse tripping event. Bad news, badasses.

Florida parachute laws are… strangely specific

A woman who is unmarried may not go parachuting on Sundays. This law is part of a group of archaic sabbath laws that have simply never been repealed. It’s rarely enforced, however, so all the single ladies can feel pretty safe to go parachuting on Sundays in the Sunshine State.

Texas limits your lewd toy ownership

It is illegal to own six or more dildos. Which makes sense, anything more than five is really just excessive.

Don’t even think about stealing a gator in Louisiana

You get 10 years of jail time in Louisiana for stealing an alligator. So, if that was on your to-do list, then you might want to scratch it off. And also, might want to reevaluate your life choices.

Leave your skunks at the door when you visit Tennessee

It is illegal to carry a skunk into Tennessee, so all y’all skunk smugglers just better watch out!

Kentucky is counting your blue ducks

You can’t sell one blue duck, but you can sell six blue ducks. Not sure what happens after you have sold one of the six. Are you breaking the law? Do you have to keep six blue ducks on hand at all times? Why is Kentucky so concerned with the blue duck trade anyway?

North Carolina is tough on grease theft

It’s a felony in North Carolina to steal more than $1000 worth of used grease. Less than $1,000 worth is just a misdemeanor.

This is South Carolina, Sir. You got a permit for that missile?

It’s totally cool to fire a missile in South Carolina, just as long as you have a permit.

The West Virginia swear jar will get you every time.

You can be fined $1 for every swear word you speak in a public place in West Virginia. I sure hope it makes the cash register “CHA-CHING” sound every time someone says a bad word. That would make it so worth it.

WATCH: 15 Southern Sayings Translated

View full mobile page